Crepes with strawberry sauce

007

Every once in a while, I like to rummage through my fridge/freezer/pantry and identify an ingredient to base something around. Forget how insignificant and underplayed that ingredient can be to the final product, it’s just what I do. And, in gardening, sometimes you have to roll with it. (What to do with all this parsley? Let’s make chimichurri sauce!)

So I was hoping to get myself to Baugher’s Orchard in Westminster and pick me some fresh strawberries before the season is over (unfortunately, I’m pretty sure it is). Regardless, I can’t justify picking 5 pounds worth of new strawberries when, I’m embarrassed to say, I’ve got some in the freezer left over from last year. So ashamed! They’re good for smoothies, you know, I just haven’t made one in a while. What’s a girl to do? I will not throw them away! Freezer burn be damned!

Strawberry sauce! Yes! You can never go wrong with cooking down fruit, adding some sugar, a little bit of acid and some warm spices. So that’s exactly what I did! I don’t measure, people, I experiment and, more often than not, the result is edible success (notice I did not say scrumptious success). So in a pot go the frozen strawberries (probably 3 cups), some orange juice (3/4- 1 cup), cinnamon (1/2 tsp.), brown sugar (a few tbsp.) and cornstarch to thicken it a lil’ (1 tbsp.). Simmer for 10-15 minutes and it’s good to go. I used an immersion blender to whip that stuff up (one of the best kitchen tools ever).

So now I’ve got this strawberry sauce. Now what?

I’ve been wanting to makes crepes for a while now. And it’s one of those foods that has so much variability with how you can prepare it (breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, sweet or savory) that it should be a must in my go-to arsenal as a self-proclaimed foodie. So I went to it. 1-2-3. That’s your ratio for crepes: 1 cup of flour, 2 cups of milk, 3 eggs. I also added about 1 tsp. of sugar, 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and 2 tbsp. melted butter. Whisk it and strain it through a sieve. It’s French cuisine. You have to go the extra mile.

Nonstick skillet, medium heat. Use just the tiniest amount of batter like 2-3 tbsp. and swirl it around in the pan until there’s a nice even coating (you’re going to be in front of the stove for a while, have a cup of coffee, listen to your favorite Pandora station, dance). Two minutes on one side, flip for 30 seconds or so on the other side and voila! One down. Many more to go….

I have to say, it looks very impressive, doesn’t it?

005

The beauty comes in this dish’s ability to be transformed based on the likes of the eater. Stuff it with lemon curd, whipped cream, nutella, sweetened ricotta or mascarpone with orange or lemon zest. Or, what I did for the husband, mango yogurt. Yep. That easy. Makes me want to host a crepe party…with mimosas and bellinis.

 

One thought on “Crepes with strawberry sauce

Leave a Reply

